Testing and QA

how do teachers enrol cohorts?

Mary Cooch
how do teachers enrol cohorts?
Documentation writersMoodle Course Creator Certificate holdersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersTestersTranslators
I mean -what settings/permissions do they need? As a teacher I see the enrol cohorts button in the course but I don't get the option to enrol a cohort (and yes the admin has made a cohort)thoughtful

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Iñaki Arenaza
Re: how do teachers enrol cohorts?
Core developersDocumentation writersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

Having a look at the code I see that you can only enrol cohorts defined in a context where your user has moodle/cohort:view capability.

Techers have this capability assigned by default at course level (course context). But you can only define cohorts at the system or category level. So that means that regular course teachers cannot enrol cohorts sad

Whether this is a bug or a design feature is open to debate smile. I suspect the reason it works the way it does is because cohort enrolment can be thought of as category (or site-wide) "management". Then it would makes sense to assign that capability at the category or site level to those people in charge of that "management".

But feel free to open a bug if you think the current behaviour is not that useful for most people smile

Saludos. Iñaki.

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
Mary Cooch
Documentation writersMoodle Course Creator Certificate holdersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersTestersTranslators
Ah thanks! The point is - a teacher has a button that says enrol cohort - and so if they aren't going to be allowed to enrol cohorts then that's rather misleading, I think. I will open up a tracker itemsmile
EDIT: here!

Picture of Philippe Siwinski

The bug has been fixed so the enrol cohort button does not appear when the user does not have permission to do so.

The question still remains : how do teachers enrol cohorts (created by admin or manager) ?