Offline editing

Offline editing

by Mark Oldham -
Number of replies: 7

I am new to Moodle.org, not sure if this is the right place to ask this but we already have an active moodle that is live, we want to completely revamp our moodle. Is there a way to edit it eg the themes ect offline so it does not affect the live moodle that users are using?

We could then play around in test environment and them publish the content when we are happy with it.

Cheers for any help in advance.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mark Oldham

Re: Offline editing

by Alex Smith -

Good afternoon Mark.

Why don't you download the complete package for Windows (XAMMP) from http://download.moodle.org/windows/ 

Then set it up on the Localhost

Good luck,

Alex

In reply to Alex Smith

by Mark Oldham -
Thank you for your feedback, sorry to be a pain, how would i set this up? Thanks again in advance.
In reply to Mark Oldham

by Alex Smith -

Sorry Mark I didn't notice this until today.

I am assuming that you are using windows? If so this is what you should do:
Go to; http://download.moodle.org/windows/ and download the latest version

Before extracting the file in drive c:, make a folder in drive c: e.g.Moodle
after that, extract the file inside the folder:

You will notice four files:
moodle.exe
moodle stop.exe
readme file
then a folder named server

double click moodle.exe
then after that go to your browser and type in the url; localhost

Then click next and go through the setup process.

Good luck

In reply to Alex Smith

by Mark Oldham -
Thanks alot for all you're help! I will give this a try later today. thanks again.
In reply to Alex Smith

by Mark Oldham -
Thanks! got an offline moodle to edit, Thanks for all your help.
In reply to Mark Oldham

by Obando JH -