Virus Concern

Virus Concern

by Renee Citlau -
Number of replies: 10

I'm a high school computer teacher.  The district Webmaster loaded Moodle on our district server for me.  I have been successfully using Moodle for a year and have trained dozens of teachers and helped them setup sites at their schools.  In addition, I have created a Moodle site for our Professional Development office, and we're having our first online meeting in December.

Unfortunately, the district I work at is concerned about getting viruses from files uploaded or downloaded to moodle on our district server and have now stopped all new Moodle sites within our district.

What are other sites doing to prevent viruses on their servers?  It sounds like a valid concern, but there must be a reasonalble solution.  I would like to get as much information as possible before I go in and talk to them and would be extremely grateful for suggestions.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Renee Citlau

Re: Virus Concern

by Genner Cerna -
I think 1.5 has implemented the virus scaning when uploading a file... But not sure if it is included on the next release of moodle.

Try to ask Martin...
In reply to Genner Cerna

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
That is correct, Moodle 1.5 works together with ClamAV (an open source anti-virus program for Linux) to scan all incoming files (at the time they are uploaded) for known viruses (this includes assignments, attachments, etc etc)
In reply to Martin Dougiamas

by Sunyee W -
Thanks for all this wonderful input and clarification!
In reply to Renee Citlau

by David Scotson -

It sounds like you are saying that they think the server itself will get a virus from files uploaded to Moodle.

I believe this is impossible, and if it was possible, it would be yet another good reason to use Linux or Mac OS X on the server.