Duplicate (part of) an existing module?

Duplicate (part of) an existing module?

by Jean-Luc Delghust -
Number of replies: 10
Hi all,

We use Moodle for Language teaching, and in that, we use the Online text Assignment module a lot. It's great, though lacking a feature for us. Now, as we share the installation of Moodle with the rest of the university, so we can't just modify a module to fit our needs.
I'm not a programmer, unfortunately, I can maybe get somene to work on it, but I'd need some info first, and I'd appreciate any suggestions/help.
Here's what I'd like to do:
- Duplicate the "Online Text" assignemnt module with another name, so in the dropdown list, when you click on "Add an Activity > Assignement" there would be something like "Online Text EFL (English Foreign Language)"
- That duplicated module would behave exactly like the original except that the text editor in the feedback field (when a teacher clicks on "grade" to add feedback and grades for students) would be replaced by a TinyMCE including a custom-made plugin we developed here (basically, that plugin allows us to easily add tags to identfy students' language mistakes.

I have found discussions about replacing the text editor by TinyMCE for the whole moodle install, and although I'd really like that very much, I don't think our admin will be very fond of the idea...

Any help or suggestion very welcome!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jean-Luc Delghust

Re: Duplicate (part of) an existing module?

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Should be a fairly simple job.

Copy everything in the 'mod/assignment/type/online' folder into a new folder (e.g. 'mod/assignment/type/onlineefl' )

Rename the 4 times the phrase 'assignment_online' appears in 'assignment.class.php' to 'assignment_onlineefl'.