Splitting moodle - parents and pupils, make it pretty!

Splitting moodle - parents and pupils, make it pretty!

av David Shields -
Antall svar: 13

Not so much a problem or advocacy, more a request for advice on the best way to do things.

I'm a technician, not a teacher, and I'm going to be setting up a moodle for a school.

For copyright and privacy reasons, student course content should only be visible to logged in users (who will be students and teachers at the school).

But, the school also wants its website to be a good looking view into the school, so they would like plenty of content useful to parents and potential school entrants. Rather than go down the root of a CMS for general school content, and moodle for the VLE, they'd like moodle to provide it all.

This means that a large part of the front page should be publically visible, preferably with 'pretty' stuff that is also visible to not-logged-in users, and links to stuff like timetables, school trip gallerys, useful parent info, letters/bulletins from the head all permanently available to not-logged-in. Only when the student wants to access actual course material should the have to log in.

Is this do-able in moodle, or is the best way to wrap moodle in a cms (I sincerely home it isn't!)

David

Gjennomsnittlig vurdering: -
Som svar til David Shields

Re: Splitting moodle - parents and pupils, make it pretty!

av Mary Cooch -
Bilde av Documentation writers Bilde av Moodle HQ Bilde av Particularly helpful Moodlers Bilde av Testers Bilde av Translators

Hi David smile I was down your way (Leeds) only the other day,at a Moodle conference in fact! We do exactly what you say with our school Moodle - its front page is ouir website and the rest of it is log in only.Take a look ...http://www.olchs.lancs.sch.uk