Creating a new scale

Creating a new scale

by Nancy Gleaton -
Number of replies: 18

This is my first post to a Moodle forum, so please bear with me if I've put it my question in the wrong place. I'm still learning my way around!

I have a course that has activities (quizzes, projects with file submissons, etc.) that need to be graded on different scales. None are based on the the standard scale of 0-100. Some can earn as many as 350 point, others as few as 20 points.

When I create a new scale, do I have to input every possible numeric value? For example, the activites that can earn 350 points -- do I have to input 0,1,2,3... all the way up to 350? Are negative values allowed? In some cases, if a student does not turn in an assignment at all, I want to deduct points, so I need the option of giving a negative grade.

And when I go to create a new scale, every one defaults to a standard scale. The checkbox that indicates that is greyed out and cannot be changed. So how do I create a custom scale?

In reply to Nancy Gleaton

Re: Creating a new scale

by Maryel Mendiola -
Hi Nancy smile

Welcome to Using Moodle Forums

I recommend this documentation http://docs.moodle.org/en/Scales

There you can see many useful examples for you want

And No, you don't need to input complete scale from 0 to 350, don't worry wink

After you read Scale documentation and create your personal scales, tell us how you did it.

Have a nice day

In reply to Maryel Mendiola

by Nancy Gleaton -

Hi Maryel,

Thie first thing I did was read the documentation, but it doesn't say a word about my two questions. The examples don't show how to enter the scale data. For example, if I don't need to enter every number between 0 and 350, what do I enter? The numbers won't be associated with a letter grade or a comment (as in 0-60=F or 0-60=Fail).

And it doesn't say anything about the default standard scale being checked and not being able to uncheck it, so I'm still clueless how to create a custom scale.