Non-free plugins and Moodle license question

Non-free plugins and Moodle license question

by Cam Add -
Number of replies: 30
Hello,

Is it against Moodle license to create a plugin or module and not to release it under GPL, but use a propietary (closed source) license for this new plugin or module ?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Cam Add

Re: Non-free plugins and Moodle license question

by Mark Johnson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
I am not a lawyer, but my understanding is that yes it's legal, as long as:
  • You don't use any GPL code in the closed source module
  • You don't distribute the closed source module with any GPL code (for instance, a package containing Moodle and your plugin).
However, speaking as a member of the open source community, I'd like to be the first to discourage your from releasing code for an open source product under a closed source licence. Not because I've got a free software axe to grind, but because I genuinely think it's the best way to do it. You might want to read this presentation I gave recently about the advantages of engaging with the community.
In reply to Mark Johnson

by Cam Add -

Hello,

Yes, I willl release all contributed modules under GPL, except for a tiny one involved in integration with other propietary software, wich is a requisite for my customer.

I asked this because I read somewhere in the past that if you write code that *must* run under a GPL'd software (i.e, some piece that makes no sense tu be runned alone) then you are forced to license it as GPL, too.

thanks for your answer
In reply to Cam Add

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
This is incredibly common if you are involved in commercial development for Moodle. The simple answer, in my interpretation, is as follows...