Authentication via URL pass...

Authentication via URL pass...

by Jason Cortes -
Number of replies: 12
Hello all, this is my first time posting here- and well as you guessed... I'm looking for a little help/direction.

Problem:
Trying to bypass a old defunct LMS by using moodle. In order to do this I'm using a scorm 1.2 package to pull a student id and course id out of the old one. This little sco package in turn constructs a url and replaces the first page of the fake course with a link to it. This shoots them right through no problem.

now comes the tricky part. via a $_GET["id"]; I'm assigning my new found id to the username. As the user has already signed into the first account I do not need them to sign into moodle with another password. I plan to set a default value for that in the back end tables, and simply have it the same every time. Also if a user is new, I'll need to create a account for them on the fly.

So...

I am looking for a little direction on how to approach this. I know this place is littered with excellent code, but I just don't know enough about how, to find what I'm looking for.

Is this a Authentication plug in that I'm writing? I've tried getting some reference materials for this but packt keeps pushing the publish date out for that new book they have.

I already have been poking at the Development:Authentication_plug ins section...

if anyone out there can help I would be very appreciative!

Thanks in advance.

oh... I do program php, just don't know enough about moodle.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jason Cortes

Re: Authentication via URL pass...

by Hubert Chathi -
Yes, you would probably be writing an authentication plugin. For something similar to what you want to do, you can look at auth/mnet/land.php.