We have just upgraded to 1.9.5. In the previous version we were running (1.8+), copies of role assignments were made each time an instructor backed up and restored a course. I think this was a bug? I any event, I believe this no longer happens in version 1.9+ so I want to clean up the many many copies of instructor and student roles that have been generated.
I am reluctant to just delete the role since there are users attached to each one but it seems like a daunting amount of work to review each record individually. Is there a simpler way to do this? Ideally I would like to make any user with a copy role (eg, "student copy 2", "instructor copy 6", etc.) to be replaced with the standard "student" or "instructor" role. Only way i can think of at this point is with a database query. I was hoping not to go there...
Thanks for any input!