Easily add FLV Player to Moodle

Easily add FLV Player to Moodle

by David Magill -
Number of replies: 0
Hey everyone, I have burned some brain cells on this off and on for the last few days. Although Moodle has a built in player, I wanted my traditional player, the FLV Player. Due to the Tiny editor, my code would always get messed up, and in a week I will not be the guy who would be doing these lessons. So I had to be able to give this program over to a person that has minimal experience with Moodles use. It has to be close to cut and paste. I am far from a Moodle expert!

It suddenly hit me, if the editor is messing up the FLV's call to the swfobject.js file, then put that line of code outside the editor. So I dumped it into the header.php file in my theme directory. In the root directory (with the moodle directory list) I created a js directory. In there I put swfobject.js and player.swf. More for neatness then necessity.

As an example...
edit header.php and put this script line in above the closing </head>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/swfobject.js"></script>

Then anywhere in the page I wanted the mp3 player, I opened the HTML view and pasted my actual code.

<embed
width="300"
height="20"
src="js/player.swf"
allowscriptaccess="always"
allowfullscreen="true"
flashvars="file=/audio/yourMP3file.mp3&autostart=true"
/>
This will work for flash movies or mp3. For movies you will have to change the height to at least 300 =-).

I tried a number of the other players and I just really like the FLV Player and it's community. My company has a licence with the FLV developers but they do have a watermarked free version.

There are some issues, if you run multiple players on a single page you will have to head over to the documentation and again the editor may cause some heartache.