Please choose one of the following:

Please choose one of the following:

by Glenys Hanson -
Number of replies: 2
Hi Gordon,

While waiting for the Post-condition "Menu of all quizzes" to be implemented, if I want students to see where they are as they work through a large number of quizzes in a QuizPort, the best solution I've found so far is to have neither pre- nor post-conditions. Most students will normally work through a numbered list of quizzes in order in any case. The problem is that the heading, when there are no pre- or post-conditions is, "Please choose one of the following:" This seems to encourage students to not do them in order and even not to do all of them. Is it possible to change this to something more neutral: "Quizzes in this Unit" or even nothing at all?

I know as administrator I can change this phrase, but I can't where I'm only a lowly teacher.

Cheers,
Glenys
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Glenys Hanson

Re: Please choose one of the following:

by Gordon Bateson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Glenys,
I'll be working on "Menu of all quizzes" very soon, so I would like to ask you to wait a little for that.

The reason for "Please choose one of the following" is that having watched my students just stare at that page, I felt it necessary to put text which told them what they were expected to do.

Because this page appears any time several quizzes are available to the student, the software doesn't know for sure  if this a complete list of all quizzes and the student must do them all, or if one of them has a post-condition which would signify the end of the unit, so we need a phrase which is is all purpose but which also tell sthe students they are expected to do something.