Using ICT (e-Learning/Moodle) in Southern Afrika

Using ICT (e-Learning/Moodle) in Southern Afrika

by Peter Janssens -
Number of replies: 6

I am doing a project focussing on "How ICT can support lecturing" in polytechnics (cf american higher education, non-university) in Zimbabwe (next to South Afrika). I am currently exploring the possibilities with Moodle in 2 institutions in this country.

However, I have no previous experience with e-learning, neither have I experience in Afrika. I regularly meet unforseen situations due to wrong (unconscious) assumptions.

I therefore are desperately looking for people with experience with Moodle (or any other ICT supported teaching) in Afrika, preferably in the Southern Afrikan region.

Thanks a lot if you can help me! I published also my e-mail address in order to open up all communication media as much as possible.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Peter Janssens

Re: Using ICT (e-Learning/Moodle) in Southern Afrika

by Markus Mostert -

Dear Peter,

I realise that it has been a while since your original post, but was wondering if you are still interested in discussing the use of Moodle in Southeren Africa. We use Moodle at Rhodes University in the Eastern Cape, South Africa, and I'd be happy to share our experiences. Last year I tried to encourage people at the Africa University in Zimbabwe and the Eduardo Mondlane University in Mozambique to start using Moodle. I know that the people at the Africa University has started, but I am not sure how well they are coping.

Take care,

Markus

Rhodes University Moodle Administrator

In reply to Markus Mostert

by Anton Pienaar -
Hi Peter and Markus,

We really should chat more. I am busy with a fairly large roll-out of a moodle lms here in Bloemfontein South Africa. I have always thought that moodle would take off in Africa. An affordable solution to assist the less wealthy higher education institutions will promote learning and teaching.

Regards

Anton

by andy choo -
Hi,