Is this a good idea? Blog Aggregation Management

Is this a good idea? Blog Aggregation Management

by David Jones -
Number of replies: 2
G'day All,

I'm a newbie to Moodle. Have spent the day trawling the websites. Have decided to follow the advice and ask if this makes sense. If it does, I'm also interested in any suggestions for implementation you might have (beyond those I can find online).

Background

Since about 2006 I've developed/maintained a service at my host institution under the name Blog Aggregation Management (BAM). It's based on the institution's existing e-learning infrastructure. Infrastructure that disappears in 2010 as we move to Moodle.

Academic staff currently using BAM, would like to continue.

What is BAM?

It's explained in more detail on the BAM page and in the ELI guide to blogging.

In summary, it provides the administrative and marking services required by academics to manage each student having a reflective journal that is used to answer specific, usually "reflective", questions. This includes support for courses with 10-20 academics marking different student journals and a need for some sort of management/oversight.

If necessary, 2009 paper has some more information. Most relevant is likely to be this section that has some screen shots of the existing system and a bit of a description of workflow.

Obvious negatives

I can see three obvious negatives associated with this idea and Moodle. They and some potential responses are:
  1. Moodle already has blogs (a couple if the OU Blogs are included)
    The focus on BAM isn't the blogs. It's on the management/marking interface for the academics.
  2. Potentially this breaks some of the assumptions underpinning the use of blogs in Moodle
    To some extent this should be considered, but if the academics here want to use it this way.... Also, it isn't really about blogs, it's about the interface that makes it easier for the academic staff.