New to Moodle, help modeling course

New to Moodle, help modeling course

by John Rinck -
Number of replies: 4

I am new to moodle. The course I am trying to model in Moodle consists of course material organized by sections and chapters. At the end of each chapter there is a quiz. I want to make sure each chapter is read before the quiz is available. I also want to make sure section one is completed before section 2 and so forth. I would also like next/previous buttons so the student can easily navigate between chapters.

• Section 1
    • Chapter 1
    • Chapter 2
    • Chapter 3
    • Quiz
  • Section 2
    • Chapter 4
    • Chpater 5
    • Chpater 6
    • Quiz

I am not sure how to model this in moodle. I initially thought topics to represent the sections and resources for each chapter. I can add a quiz at the end of each topic. However I don't see anyway to have next/previous buttons in the resources plus I don't see anyway to disable the quiz until each resource is read (visited). Of course this extends to "disabling" topic two until the quiz in topic one is completed.

I looked at lessons to sue for the chapters since they have the branch tables for navigation. But I don't have any questions in/after each chapter. So lessons did not seem like a good fit.

I also have not seen how to disable something (lesson, resource, quiz etc) until after an event like reading a resource.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks in advance.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Rinck

Re: New to Moodle, help modeling course

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators