Unable to correctly interpret output of rolesdebug.php

Unable to correctly interpret output of rolesdebug.php

by Robert Spillner -
Number of replies: 4
Hi folks,

I tried to make an HTML-block on the starting page viewable only for the role "Authentifizierte/r Lehrer/in" (authenticated teacher) by setting "moodle/block:view" to A at the block element context. On the other hand "Authentifizierte/r Nutzer/in" (authenticated user) have P in this block context.

Loggin in as an authenticated teacher I'm still not able to see the HTML-block. I read "How permissions are calculated", used rolesdebug.php and it gives

---------- snip ------
gouser = spil (<name>)
capability = moodle/block:view ("Block sehen")
context = Block502 (Block: HTML)
-
R8 = Authentifizierte/r Lehrer/in
R7 = Authentifizierte/r Nutzer/in
Kernsystem Startseite HTML
R8(A), R7(A) -
-
-
-
-
R8(A), R7(P) -
-

Calculated permission = P
Can do anything = false
Can do this = false
---------- snip ------

Doesn't that contradict the article mentioned above?

What am I missing? How can I enable this Block-Element for teachers only without disclosing it to authenticated users? Thank you!
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Robert Spillner

Re: Unable to correctly interpret output of rolesdebug.php

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
The German translation you link to is wrong in one detail (what happens when you get to a cell containing the same number of As and Ps). The English translation How_permissions_are_calculated has been correct for some time. (But, when I made a prettier version of rolesdebug.php as part of the main roles interface in Moodle 2.0, I flipped the table round another way.)
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Robert Spillner -

Hi Tim,

sorry, changed my originally post, because I think I'm slowly getting it: