Offering paid enhancements to Modules

Offering paid enhancements to Modules

by Ted Bowman -
Number of replies: 4
Hi,
I have general question contributed modules forum. I developed the map module and moderate the Map Module forum. I often will have users ask in the forum if the module can do this or that feature. I generally try to keep a list of features that people of asked for. I try to add new features when I have time.

I am a professional programmer so I have to take paid work first, which doesn't leave much time for working on this module. I was wondering if it is appropriate to respond on the forum that I could add the feature if they sponsored the development(i.e. paid for it).

Not sure if such a response like this would be appropriate in this setting. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Ted

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ted Bowman

Re: Offering paid enhancements to Modules

by Helen Foster -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi Ted,

Firstly, thanks a lot for your work in developing the Map module and moderating the Map module forum. approve

I think it's fine for you to reply to posts saying that a feature could be developed if someone was willing to sponsor it. According to our Policy on Advertising, mentioning commercial services in discussions is OK "if it's in the natural context of a discussion". I understand this to mean that replying to a discussion is fine, but starting a new discussion specifically to advertise your services is not. (Hopefully someone will correct me if I've misunderstood things. wink)
In reply to Ted Bowman

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers