Displaying only courses list on the front page

Displaying only courses list on the front page

by Jennifer Hudson -
Number of replies: 9
I selected "List of courses" in front page settings page in "Front page items when logged in" field. When I log in as a teacher or administrator, I am able to see only list of courses. But When I log in as a student, I am able to see all courses and also all course categories. I think it should display only courses right? I set my front page default role as Student.Can anyone please help me?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jennifer Hudson

Re: Displaying only courses list on the front page

by David Le Blanc -
I'm wondering if you could enable "My Moodle" as Thea suggests, but then hide the "Search courses" button and "All courses" link. It looks a bit fiddly but here's a thread describing how to do this: http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=98445
In reply to David Le Blanc

by Jennifer Hudson -
Hi David, thanks for responding.
here's the scenario:
There is a free course and an enrollable course. After the student is enrolled by entering the enrollment key, then only, in the front page I am able to see the list of courses(without categories) - My courses block(before enrolling with enrollment key, even when I selected "List of courses" in "Front page items when logged in" field in front page settings page, combo list was getting displayed). But I am not able to see the free course in the list. and I also want the student to see only the list of courses before he/she enrolls in a course. Can any one please help?
In reply to Jennifer Hudson

by Ciara Rogers -
Hi Jennifer,

I am struggling with the same problem.

Teachers can see only a list of courses that they are enrolled in but I just logged in as a student and they are presented with all categories and courses - well the visible ones. \