newbie don't know where to begin upgrade process

newbie don't know where to begin upgrade process

by Joe Rowe -
Number of replies: 2
I need to upgrade moodle from 1.1 to 1.4 and I don't know how to begin the upgrade. I've read the documentation at it seems that I need shell access which I don't have.

I'd be willing to pay $$ someone to call me and talk for 30 minutes because I'm so new to moodle and the students start school next week. I've got a CS degree and worked with a lot of software. I'm just a newbie to Moodle.

I'd love to use CVS. I don't think I can. When moodle was instlled the first time it was not done so with CVS. Perhaps I'm wrong but I think to use CVS as an upgade tool the first install must be done with CVS. Anway I've got deadlines so I can play with CVS later.

I'd really like to upgrade from Moodle 1.1 to 1.4 in a prompt yet practical manner.

The http://moodle.org/doc/
on upgrading makes it seem like i need shell access. Sadly my ISP does not offer me shell access. I think the key step I can't do is to untar the moodle archive. I do have FTP permissions and abilities. And the best part of my upgrade is that I don't care about any of my old courses or settings. They can be deleted or stay. I don't a backup of my older 1.1 moddle site.

Notes and my course site:
http://www.roweclassroom.com/courses

My info: (510) 326-6075
jrowe@igc.org
Joe Rowe, Portland OR

I do have a client debian machine but I'm pretty new to linux. Is it safe to assume that I could untar the new moodle archive on a windows client or unix client or mac client and then FTP up the files. Or are there chmod permission laws that would break.

I've even downloaded the PDF manual from Matt Riordan. Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Joe Rowe

Re: newbie don't know where to begin upgrade process

by Timothy Takemoto -

Yes, the documentation does seem to be written for those that have a server and command line access.