Restored Course 'cache module information' error

Restored Course 'cache module information' error

by Abraham Ott -
Number of replies: 9
Hi, I'm new to Moodle. I'm trying to consolidate several courses we've set up into one course using the course backup and restore. Everything seems to have gone smoothly, except now after I restored the third course into the destination course the error message "Could not cache module information for course 'Your Course'!" appears at the top of the course. What's causing this, and how would I fix it?

I tried searching the forums for a solution, but I couldn't find anything.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Abraham Ott

Re: Restored Course 'cache module information' error

by Abraham Ott -
Anyone? I've since learned that it only happens once I've restored 3 course backups into the consolidated course (total of 18 topics). These courses each restored into their own course doesn't seem to break anything.

What am I missing? In the code the error message seems associated with course.modinfo; in another post on the forums Someone said you could set course.modinfo to an empty string and it would get rebuilt. I tried that on one of my sandbox conglomerated courses I've been playing with that throws the error, in case it simply had a bad course.modinfo entry. No luck, the field stays empty, does not get rebuilt and now that course throws three "Could not cache module information..." errors.

Anyone have any ideas?
In reply to Abraham Ott

by Alissa Parrish -

We are experiencing the same problem with a course that we restored from multiple backups.  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

In reply to Alissa Parrish

by John Lohr -

I did finally find the solution.  The problem was due to the "modinfo" field in the Course table becoming too large.