New Format Section Naming

New Format Section Naming

by Gareth J Barnard -
Number of replies: 5
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
Hi,

With Moodle 1.9.3 - 15/10/2008...

I am experimenting with a new course format and read the Readme.txt in /course/format about adding language strings to a file (line 28+) to make get_string in /lib/moodlelib.php find them and then putting that file in /lang/en_utf8. However it does not! Therefore when you come to edit a section name you see ' two left square brackets nameyourformat two right square brackets' instead of the string in the file you placed in /lang/en_utf8. I had a go at putting the strings in /lang/en_utf8/moodle.php and the problem was solved.

I had a quick look on tracker and could not see anything that immediately stood out.

Is this a known issue or something that needs to be put in the tracker. If the latter, I am new to this - so help!

BTW - I installed the Accordian format in the same version of Moodle and it appears to have the same issue.

Cheers,

Gareth
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Gareth J Barnard

Re: New Format Section Naming

by Anthony Borrow -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Gareth - I am happy to help you figure out what is happening with language strings in the course format. In order to keep things as modular as possible, your course format should have its own language file called /course/format/newformat/lang/en_utf8/format_newformat.php. Then when you want to get a string from it you would use:

get_string('showmyformatstring','format_newformat');

That is how things are designed to work. So if there is an issue with the accordian format we should file an issue in the tracker. Let me know if you have any further questions. Peace - Anthony
In reply to Anthony Borrow

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers