Text editors

Picture of Chris Delaney
Problems with anchors

Hi there, apologies - I'm pretty new to Moodle. I'm having trouble with something that I thought would be easy, Anchors.

In my topic outline at the top of my course I have some text and I would like students to be able to click on words/text and jump down to the appropriate topic (rather than scroll down).

Using the anchor logo/button I set the anchor in my topics, then when I return to my topic outline at the top of the page I highlight the text and click insert web link - and none of my anchors are visible in the drop down menu....

Any ideas. I've tried in Firefox and IE.

Cheers

Chris

Average of ratings: -
Michele
Re: Problems with anchors

I had a similar problem and couldn't get anchors to work so this is what I did.
I used Topics and put each Module into a Topic Block. I had icons in the main introduction Block and linked them to each Module by minimising the blocks by clicking the 'Show only Topic 1' or 2 or 3 etc. on the right-hand site of the block. Then I copied the URL and pasted that in the 'Insert Link' URL area after selecting to link the image. Then went through and did them all this way.
It works perfectly for me and the students are happy with it and that is the main thing.
I hope this is what you are after.
Kia ora
Michele

Picture of Chris Delaney

Yeah, good idea.... thanks Michele

Picture of Angela Kristin

Thanx !!!
It helped me..
Thanx a lot...

Picture of Cathe Ostrowski

Michele - you are a lifesaver!!! Anchors wouls not show up in the pull down/pop-up window. I was at wit's end.

I tried your idea and it WORKED!!!

Thank you so much!!

Cathe

Picture of Leonie Millar

Thanks Michele you are a genius - this idea works better for what I wanted anyway

Lee

Picture of Richard Mattock

Hi,

If you do not want to minimise the other sections but want to move to a Topic with all the others still showing then each Topic already has an anchor attached.