DMS won't list all users

DMS won't list all users

by Phil Brown -
Number of replies: 6
I have over 1000 users in my test site. When I list all users ( as Admin) by clicking on the User Folders it only list about 300 users and then gives the error message;

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in c:\program files\easyphp\www\moodle\dms\inc\inc.OutUtils.php on line 92

Line 92 of the inc.OutUtils.php file says:

$displayfolders = count(array_intersect($subfolderkeys, $displayedkeys)) > 0 || in_array($root, $expanded) && count($subfolders) > 0;

I'm not a programmer and I can't see any reference to a time out. Is this the problem?

Phil
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Phil Brown

Re: DMS won't list all users

by Michael Penney -
Hi Phil, that sounds like a php setting:
max_execution_time 30 30
30 seconds is the default.

You can change it by changing the number in your php.ini file and then restarting apache.

Back up your php.ini file first, of coursewink.
In reply to Phil Brown

by W Page -
Hi Phil

After you have added users run the "setup.php" file for the DMS feature [like when you initially installed the DMS] and new users should be added.

WP1
In reply to Phil Brown

by John Papaioannou -
Phil, your question is very logical and the technical answer from Michael is correct.

I 'd like to confess, however, that the real problem is that DMS is just too slow when the students start numbering several hundreds. This is a design flaw, which I only noticed when trying to use DMS in a site with 1500 students.

Obviously this is a priority for DMS. When progress is made, I will post here again. In the meantime, I 'm really sorry it fails to meet your needs.

Jon
In reply to John Papaioannou

by Phil Brown -
I adjusted the php.ini timer setting up to 120 seconds and now I get a different message.

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in c:\program files\easyphp\www\moodle\dms\inc\inc.OutUtils.php on line 92