Can Moodle do this?

Re: Can Moodle do this?

by Ger Tielemans -
Number of replies: 0

When I studied Psychology in the 70s, we also got a kind of inventors-course, forgot the reason.
(Have to find literature about that again.... anybody?)

One of the tricks I remember is to put the activities upside-down:

I would like to call this from now on: "Do the Moodle"
(with an illustration of the French Moodle)

During the design of a course I advice people to play this game:

Teachers makes questions, student gives answers becomes...
Teacher collects information, students comment on it, becomes...
Teacher makes a glossary for the course, students read...
And now you...

Now to your question:
First a disclaimer: I try not to insult you, just rethink and then choose or reject the next thoughtssmile

• First teach a module in a course, then do the test
  • Why not: first do the test, and if you fail (or choose it voluntarily!) you do the course with higher motivation...

I myself was a computer-control-freak, designing CBT since 1980 when I bought my first Tandy model I.
Hell of a job until we rediscovered (took me until 1997!) that there is also intelligence on the otherside of the screen: not inside the computer but right in front of it... Yes the students.

Give him/her a learning-setting where they can take control over their own learning (not only give them choices, but also show the consequences of these choices..) ....you will be suprised.

Then remember how you behaved as a student, or even better: your roommate?
Students nowadays are not basically different, keep that in mind: They just discover a new life..., oops forgot the assignment.. Can't you remember that situation? 

So help them to organise their learning-life with Moodles, please look again at moodle in that way:

• Just organise the activities in the boxes and show them their progress against the timetable of the course...