Contributor Motivation

Contributor Motivation

by Rachael TT -
Number of replies: 5

I hope that I am posting this message in the right place, if not kindly refer me.

I am a master student writing a paper on motivation and open source software. There is considerable research and papers written on the theme, however my focus is pedagogical software, namely Moodle. A central question in the paper is what motivates teachers, trainers, software developers etc to contribute to an open source LMS such as Moodle.

I am interested in creating a discussion/dialogue where contributors can discuss their motivation factor(s). I suggest a discussion in this forum as the information is possibly interesting and inspiring for others, however feel free to send me a message if you wish to give feedback anonymously (please see the postscript for more information).

My definition of contribution to an open source project is broad. There is considerable contribution in Moodle - covering core development, bug fixes, translators, themes etc. even offering help in a forum is contribution to an open source project.

I do not wish to suggest responses however some key words in other open source projects would be idealism, recognition, being part the community, "scratching a personal itch", joy of developing/contributing. I am interested in intrinsic and extrinsic motivating factors.

Without contributors Moodle would not be what it is today so why do pedagogues spend their limited time on developing an LMS?

Thanking all in advance
Rachael