Help with settings for a beefy server

Help with settings for a beefy server

by Red Morris -
Number of replies: 5
Hello all,

We've got a rather decent box for our Moodle site, but we are getting emalloc error crashes a lot. My current thought (they change a lot the more I read!) is that it's to do with APC/Zend, but as I'm still learning about Apache and MySQL, oh and PHP....and PHP accellerators, I thought it could be that I'm accidentally assigning too much memory, and when a whole class log on it's crashing it.

The box is a Quad 1.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 15K rpm discs in a Raid 10, running W2K3 SP2, Apache 2.2.2, PHP 5.1.4 and Moodle 1.9.3. APC is installed, but disabled to eliminate it as a cause. This started off as an XAMPPLITE package, but has been tinkered with.

So without further rambling, here are the highlights of my settings files, the full files are attached. I welcome being called an idiot if it means I can get to the bottom of this problem!! big grin

Thanks in advance

Red

============================================================================
PHP.ini
max_execution_time = 60
memory_limit = 56M

;extension=php_apc.dll

[eAccelerator]
;extension=eaccelerator.dll
;eaccelerator.shm_size = "0"
;eaccelerator.cache_dir = "C:\xampplite\tmp"
;eaccelerator.enable = "1"
;eaccelerator.optimizer = "0"
;eaccelerator.debug = "0"
;eaccelerator.check_mtime = "1"
;eaccelerator.filter = ""
;eaccelerator.shm_max = "0"
;eaccelerator.shm_ttl = "0"
;eaccelerator.shm_prune_period = "0"
;eaccelerator.shm_only = "0"
;eaccelerator.compress = "1"
;eaccelerator.compress_level = "9"
;eaccelerator.keys = "shm_and_disk"
;eaccelerator.sessions = "shm_and_disk"
;eaccelerator.content = "shm_and_disk"
;eaccelerator.admin.name =
;eaccelerator.admin.password =

[Zend]
;zend_extension_ts = "C:\xampplite\php\zendOptimizer\lib\ZendExtensionManager.dll"
;zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts = "C:\xampplite\php\zendOptimizer\lib\Optimizer"
;zend_optimizer.enable_loader = 0