wanting to put moodle on my website. I have no CLUE

wanting to put moodle on my website. I have no CLUE

by Peter Hardie -
Number of replies: 12
ok, so i have a domain name, i have the desire to put moodle onto it. But i have no idea.
I have downloaded moodle onto my laptop. i don't understand what PHP, or anything. i use dreamweaver for the website, but that means nothing. Please can someone help me. I don't understand anything anyone writes so it needs to be basic.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Peter Hardie

Re: wanting to put moodle on my website. I have no CLUE

by Jim Coe -

Although I'm a webmaster and web developer and have used several PHP programs in the past, I decided to buy and download the "Moodle 1.9 e-learning course development" PDF ebook ($30.59 US$) from Packt publishing.

http://www.packtpub.com/learning-moodle-1-9-course-development/book

It goes into great detail on all aspects of Moodle, including installation and the author does not assume you know squat. I recommend you use it as a guide.

Besides a domain name, you need a web hosting service (you rent space for your web site on their web servers, so you don't have to know how to setup and maintain your own web server - I recommend APlus.net) which supports the very popular MySQL web database and the newest versions of the PHP programming language. Read what the book says about deciding on your hosting requirements, before signing up for an account - the hosting service sales people can help you decide, when you tell them what you've learned from the book.

PHP is simply a programming language that people use to create many great web site tools, like slide shows, image galleries, membership management programs and anything else one can imagine - even learning environments.