Moodle Mobile for iPhone

Moodle Mobile for iPhone

by Kamil Walas -
Number of replies: 123
Hello All,

Just getting started here, but i'm wondering if anyone has tested Momo (http://www.mobilemoodle.org/momo18/) for iPhone and if so, did you use the Standard version client or the Minimum version client?

Thanks, any help or tips are appreciated.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Kamil Walas

Re: Moodle Mobile for iPhone

by Jamie Pratt -
On modern phones such as the iPhone Moodle will work great through the inbuilt browser, I wonder if it is worth developing a custom interface for Moodle if you are targeting users who have iPhones or any of the other modern phones that have excellent in built browsers.
In reply to Jamie Pratt

by Bryan Williams -
Good question Jamie. I've been exploring this for several months with my iPod touch. Right now there are two show stoppers I've noticed using the Safari browser when accessing course content. One is lack of Flash support with Safari (Adobe is supposed to be working on this), and the second seems to be problems loading a SCORM activity. I've been working with the folks that make ToolBook recently to see what can be done with their latest version to support SCORM. So far, no joy.

Recently I've started wondering what a separate Moodle interface for mobile activities might look like. I'm wondering if more activities in Moodle could be RSS enabled, would a Stitcher or Digg like aggregator work. BTW, there was some interest shown at the MoodleMoot Developers event in San Francisco last June for mobile learning. Any thoughts you have on this topic are most welcome.
In reply to Bryan Williams

by Jamie Pratt -
Hi Bryan,

Are you aware of the Moodle for Mobiles project? This made a parallel interface for Moodle available through Japanese mobile phones which support a limited sub set of html - CHTML (which is a W3C standard).