File and directory permissions

File and directory permissions

by Peter Diercks -
Number of replies: 13
Hello,

This topic is a bit confusing to me. Files and directory permissions touch the system's security as well as its functioning. I am still new to Moodle and I cannot find out about each and every single setting. So I am looking for rather safe general solutions which do not cause sudden malfunctions of the system.
From other postings and Moodle documents I took the following options as possible choices:

/moodledata --- user:group = www-data:www-data (Apache under Debian Linux)
Permissions --- Directories: 700, Files: 600

/moodle --- user:group = root:root
Permissions --- Directories: 750 or 755, Files: 640 or 644

My questions:
Are these settings too tight? Which should I choose? Or should I choose totally different ones instead? If so, which?
How to set recursive permissions using CHMOD if there apply different settings for directories and their files? Is this really necessary?

Thanks for your help,
Peter

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Peter Diercks

Re: File and directory permissions

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
How tight you need the permissions depends almost entirely on this being a shared server or not. If it is solely a web server to which only the administrator has access then you can be quit slack with permissions. If it has many users then you probably need to be more restrictive still.

Generally speaking what you are suggesting will do fine. I've never bothered restricting the files more than the directories (tricky to achieve I would think, in any case).
In reply to Howard Miller

by Peter Diercks -
Sorry, I forgot to mention that my machine is an external rootserver, so there is no local access, and root is the only "user" to log in.

by Richard Enison -
PD,