Can I do these things with Moodle?

Can I do these things with Moodle?

ni Marie Forleo -
Number of replies: 6
Hi There! I'm a Moodle newbie and very excited to get my site going!! Moodle has come highly recommended from a few folks who use it for online learning communities.

Here are my questions:

1) Do I need special Moodle "plug ins" (forgive me if this is not the right terminology) to embed Youtube Videos or MP4 videos as course material?

2) Can the students/members profile pages be customized? For example, if I want all members to answer 3 required questions about themselves that will be posted to their profile - can this be customized?

3) Can students/members upload a photo gallery in their profile?

4) Can I (teacher) or students upload streaming MP3 content?

My intention is to use Moodle as the base for my online membership/learning site but to support the members in expressing themselves in a basic "social networking" way.

Thanks in advance for any guidance, examples or insight you can offer.

Happy Friday!

Marie

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Marie Forleo

Re: Can I do these things with Moodle?

ni Art Lader -
Hi, Marie,

Here goes:
  1. Do I need special Moodle "plug ins" (forgive me if this is not the right terminology) to embed Youtube Videos or MP4 videos as course material?

No special plug-ins needed. You can embed videos in Moodle.

2. Can the students/members profile pages be customized? For example, if I want all members to answer 3 required questions about themselves that will be posted to their profile - can this be customized?

Yes, this is possible, if I understand what you want to do. You would add user profile fields to do this - http://docs.moodle.org/en/User_profile_fields

3. Can students/members upload a photo gallery in their profile?

Hmmm... Well, yes. They could certainly upload images to a database or a glossary and link to that from their profiles. Or you could give them permission to upload to a lightbox gallery.