Variables and functions scope

Variables and functions scope

by Mihai Nicolae -
Number of replies: 3
Hello,

I'm new to PHP, so I think that's the reason for some missunderstandings.

I've followed the begining of your tutorial "Development:Blocks" and I have reached the section where these 2 blocks of code are added:

<table cellpadding="9" cellspacing="0">
 <tr valign="top">
 <td align="right">
 <?php print_string('configcontent', 'block_simplehtml'); ?>:
 </td>
 <td>
 <?php print_textarea(true, 10, 50, 0, 0, 'text', $this->config->text); ?>
 </td>
 </tr>
 <tr>
 <td colspan="2" align="center">
 <input type="submit" value="<?php print_string('savechanges') ?>" />
 </td>
 </tr>
 </table>
 <?php use_html_editor(); ?>

and

$this->content = new stdClass;
 $this->content->text = $this->config->text;
 $this->content->footer = '';

But nothing happens :(. I see no edit button and no field where to enter the desired content for the block, as I've understood it would be possible using the above .html file.

My questions are:
1) where is defined (in which moodle project file) this "use_html_editor()" method ?
2) where is defined $CFG variable and what does it mean ?
2) I've noticed that in moodleblock.class.php file in the block_base class constructor is called $this->init(). where is defined this init() ? calling $this->init() I presume that init() is a method of the current class (block_base) since it is called using the current object ($this), but I can't find anywhere in this mooodleblock.class.php it's definition. And the block_base class definition is within this file, so it should be here.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mihai Nicolae

Re: Variables and functions scope

by Matt Gibson -
Hi Mihai, welcome to moodle smile