Multiple "sections"?

Multiple "sections"?

by Martin Mulhall -
Number of replies: 2
Hi everybody-
I'm a Moodle newbie but I am very impressed so far. I'm a firefighter with a large urban fire department, with a large MS Access training records database kept at the fire academy. My current job involves a ton of work just to keep this monster working, and I will move us over to Moodle, with a just little help.
We (me and the academy's summer intern - a CS grad student, thankfully) have our basic setup running nicely on a windows box, with phpmyadmin, mrbs, and php acceleration added in. The intent is to begin with Moodle as a central record-keeping tool AND a repository for course presentation materials and handouts. Once it does that convincingly, and with less effort than what we have to do now, we'll expand into all the other features. So far, works GREAT.
Our difficulty is this: the academy training right now is recorded in MS Access with three key fields: userid, courseid, and completion_date. The course duration varies from 23 weeks down to single day seminars. The thing to keep in mind is the focus on the completion date - the "finish date" which we use to build each FF's master training record and produce college-type transcripts. (We are also a credit-granting agency with a full-time registrar.)
In terms of enrolling students, the six month courses and other "longer" courses work fine in Moodle as is. A student would only enroll in such a course once. The single-day training that we have is repetitive, though, and is scheduled in terms of firefighting units, not individual members/students. We know Engine 1 is coming for the drill, as scheduled, but the members working that day will be enrolled/recorded as trained only after they get here. A firefighter may come four times in a year for the same drill - "Tactical Unconscious FF Removal" or "Self-Rescue Rope Refresher."