time gap in weekly format for vacations

time gap in weekly format for vacations

by Jaime Alamo -
Number of replies: 11
I'm new to Moodle and I'm planning several courses that bridge over vacational periods,  like Christmas,  Easter, o some local festivities.

The weekly format doesn't allow to edit week dates to introduce the gap.  (If edition were possible,  I could also avoid  fragmented natural weeks like those that appear for instant "from Thursday to next Wednesday")

I can use the topic format and write dates by hand,   but then,  I woold like to keep the control of the period during which the content of every topic is visible.  Sometimes I don't want my students to watch or use materials prepared for following weeks.  Such a control should be done automatically.

Also,  I don't know whether I can limit the availability of resources,  lessons, ... in time.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jaime Alamo

Re: time gap in weekly format for vacations

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Just use the eye on the left of a week to "hide" the week.  If you have a gray bar left over and don't want it, then change the relevant setting in Course Settings to competely hide the hidden sections.
In reply to Martin Dougiamas

by Jaime Alamo -
Thanks Martin,

I've increased the number of weeks,  moved two into the middle,  hidden these two to the students (it becomes gray)  and finally set to total invisibility (only to the students). 

It's OK,   but  the numbered weeks jump from 6 to 9.  The lack of # 7 & 8 will rise questions.

I've thought to leave them in gray and put something like St. Martin's holliday.  But I don't like that the numbering of the activities have been shifted by two.  Any way,  it is in the way.
In reply to Jaime Alamo

by Eric Hagley -