Request for comments: Feed aggregation library spec

Request for comments: Feed aggregation library spec

by Chris Zubak-Skees -
Number of replies: 8
Hi all,

I'm a GSOC student developing a RSS/Atom parsing and retrieval library. The idea being to abstract away all the details (retrieval, caching, parsing, normalization, etc.) to just a few functions. The proof of concept involves updating the RSS Block to use this new library.

I've developed a draft spec which outlines the project here: http://docs.moodle.org/en/Student_projects/Feed_aggregation_library

Since my target audience is developers and I'm new to Moodle development, I'd be interested in your feedback on all levels of the project. Some specific questions I'd love to get responses on are:
  • Is the design philosophy in line with Moodle's?
  • Would you use a library like this, and if so, how? If not, is there something I could change that would make it more useful to you?
  • What kind of data structure would be best to return results in? I'm thinking an instance of a class implementing a specialized linked list, is there something else you would reccomend?
  • Am I missing anything from the spec?
Thanks in advance,
Chris
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Chris Zubak-Skees

Re: Request for comments: Feed aggregation library spec

by Dan Poltawski -
Hi Chris,

Great work! I have a few questions:

* Its not immediately obvious to me is what the benefit of storing all of:

normalizedfeedurl
feedurl
siteurl

in feed_urls, can you explain that further?

* How would itemposition work and would itemdate not be used for positioning?

* How long do we store feed items in the database? Is the database just used to cache current items present in the RSS feed?

Over time a RSS feed with large amounts of content could grow quite large and if there are lots of feed_urls which are not used by parts of moodle but are continually checked for updates the overhead could also be an issue.
In reply to Dan Poltawski