Give a student permission to do something

Give a student permission to do something

by John Isner -
Number of replies: 18
A teacher wants to grant a specific student the ability to do something that students normally can't do (something that teachers can do). Can anyone explain how to do this?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Isner

Re: Give a student permission to do something

by Steve Hyndman -

I don't use 1.7 or 1.8 but I would assume it's as simple as creating a new role and assigning that student to that role...at least that's the theory as I understand it.

Steve

In reply to Steve Hyndman

by John Isner -
Hi Steve. As a teacher, I cannot define a new role. I would need to ask the admin to do it, and that's unacceptable. So I need a way to override the pre-defined Student role, but only for a specific student in my course.
In reply to John Isner

by Helen Foster -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi John,

The easiest way is to assign a teacher role to the student in the activity module context. Please check docs.moodle.org/en/Assign_roles for more details.
In reply to Helen Foster

by Amy Groshek -
So far as I know, assigning roles within the activity context is not fully implemented and is still very sketchy. I have not been able to make it work. Here is my post about the issue:
http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=71576

I suggest having the admin create a custom role, then the teacher can assign that custom role to the student for the course.

In reply to Amy Groshek

by John Isner -
I suggest having the admin create a custom role, then the teacher can assign that custom role to the student for the course.