Social Networking Features - Google Summer of Code

Social Networking Features - Google Summer of Code

by Luiz Eduardo Laydner Cruz -
Number of replies: 26

Hello everyone,

First of all, let me introduce myself: I'm Luiz Eduardo Laydner, I'm Brazilian and I live in São José dos Campos. I'm a computer engineering undergrad senior at ITA (Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica, www.ita.br), which is located in São José dos Campos, near São Paulo.

I'm one of the students accepted to work on Moodle as part of the Google Summer of Code 2007 program. I'm very excited to contribute to the moodle development community and I think it will be a very rewarding experience for me.

With all that said, I'd like to ask you all for feedback on my project proposal on social networking features.

http://docs.moodle.org/en/Student_projects/Social_Networking_features

It's not yet 100% complete. I'll be working on it during May. I gave it a start and I need feedback so that I don't miss important things. If you can provide me with sugestions and new ideas for the project, I will surely welcome them.

Thanks a lot!!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Luiz Eduardo Laydner Cruz

Re: Social Networking Features - Google Summer of Code

by A. T. Wyatt -
This looks very exciting! Do keep posting updates here so we will be able to follow your work.

This might sound silly, but I hope you are also putting some thought into deleting. Sometimes the interconnectedness of data makes deleting things much more difficult that it might seem on first glance.

Also, I sometimes wish that I could build groups of things, sort of like folders. For example, within the friends section, I might want to group colleagues, students, by class, etc. This isn't quite the same thing as filtering/searching because usually all your friends are displayed at the same level. Do you plan to create some mechanism for better display/access to larger numbers of items?

atw

by Jon Bolton -