How do Science Teachers Use Moodle?

How do Science Teachers Use Moodle?

by Jessica Brogley -
Number of replies: 23

Firstly, I'm an English teacher...so Moodle seems very natural to me. In early June I'm helping some science teachers use Moodle. If feel comfortable with Moodle, but I want to make sure I adapt this towards them. If you're a science teacher, can you help me here. I have some questions:

1. What features do you find yourself using in Moodle frequently?

2. Do you have any interactive favorite websites you have kids use in Moodle?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jessica Brogley

Re: How do Science Teachers Use Moodle?

by Sherry Brown -
This is my first year with Moodle. Prior to this, I had a fairly static website -- straight html with my course materials, grades and links. It was clean, simple and fast. My students (then) were tech-savvy but now I have a less technologically inclined population. I've moved most of my things into Moodle and have been tossing about ways I will use more features next year.

The complexity of Moodle has been a challenge with this group. Part of this year's learning experience (for me) has been training the less technology savvy to use the site as a resource for our class. With Moodle I can now track their usage/access of resources. Moodle has let me turn the site into "one stop shopping" for resources -- the kids can log into the site, select the current unit (I love HSU Course Menu Block) and go to a site or take a review quiz (external link).

It's now March and my Chemistry kids are just recognizing the value of what the site can do for them. My Physics kids were there in October.

For next year, I'm planning on creating quizzes and the like within Moodle, rather than use external links (which are never *quite* what I want). Some will be for review - others for class grades. There was a fabulous thread on creative use of glossaries - I am *so* implementing some of those ideas! smile