Best pracitces for teaching Math(s) in Moodle

This forum post has been removed

Number of replies: 43
The content of this forum post has been removed and can no longer be accessed.
In reply to Deleted user

Re: Best pracitces for teaching Math(s) in Moodle

by Alex Black -
Hi
I am a Science teacher not Maths but I have worked with some of our Maths staff.

To me a succesful way is to use OpenOffice or StarOffice (you can get a school license for free from Sun). The Math editor is reasonably easy to use and then the pdf export is excellent. Staff can post  links as a resource to pdf files.

Regards Alex
In reply to Alex Black

free aplis

by Jota García -

Hello

Microsoft leaves the office started excel, word, powerpoint free. in 2013 published pdf version.

Always consider the new alternative we really free Free Office, as Sun has left us hanging first, closing the open office.

My point is if you work for free, developers are also entitled to bring home a paycheck.

Would give free classes every day?

Un saludo

In reply to Deleted user

by John Isner -
I teach rather low level high school math courses, so the mathematical text that I produce is not very complicated. When I started using moodle, I generated the LaTeX using MathType, a WSYWYG math editor recommended by Microsoft as an upgrade to their own Equation Editor. MathType can be configured so that when you copy (control-C) equation text in a MathType window and paste it into a text area (such as into a moodle HTML editor), it pastes the LaTeX markup! Then you merely need to surround the LaTeX by the double dollar signs to make it palatable to moodle.

After a short time of watching the text being generated by MathType, I became familiar with LaTeX and began typing the LaTeX myself. I now rarely use MathType. Typing LaTeX is actually quite easy and fast.  In fact, it doesn't feel as if my typing slows up when I transition from text to math.