clock block

clock block

by nana OPONG -
Number of replies: 38
How do I add a 'time' or 'clock' block to my moodle site? I am new to moodle and will be gratefull for your help. Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to nana OPONG

Re: clock block

by Jan Dierckx -

Download the analog clock from the blocks for 1.5 section of this page

Install instructions are the same as with any block and are included in the zip file.

Basically...

1. Unzip the zipfile

2. Place the directory 'time' inside the directory 'moodle/blocks/'

3. Copy the file lang/en/block_time.php to the directory 'moodle/lang/en/' even if you are not using English language on your site.

4. Visit the admin page of your moodle site for the changes to take effect

5. The block should now show up in the dropdown menu when you have editing turned on in a course

HTH

In reply to Jan Dierckx

by N Hansen -
Can I ask a really silly question? Why on earth would anyone want a clock block? Doesn't every computer today have a clock on the screen at all times?
In reply to N Hansen

by Julian Ridden -
Clock blocks can be very useful, especially if they show server time.

We are a college here and use the block to show official "College" time. Useful for making sure students are on time by our understanding of it and not theirs. This also helps for when activities are time based (chat sessions, quizzes, assignment due times) to make sure no-one misses out on activities due to slow or fast watches.

With pure e-learning sites with international clientele, a server time displayed on the site also allows for removing any possible confusions when time is referred too.
In reply to Julian Ridden

by Genner Cerna -
I too wanted a clock block that is server time or the official school time to the javascript.
In reply to Genner Cerna

by Simon Bryan -
Yeah bummer this one reads the local workstation time - not much help. WIll have to delete it again, hopefully something in 1.6
In reply to Simon Bryan

by Jan Dierckx -