Is There a Colaborative Document Function?

Is There a Colaborative Document Function?

by Mike Churchward -
Number of replies: 13
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi -

I'm new to Moodle, and I'm just getting my feet wet. I love this system, and I hope to actually dig into the code soon.

Looking at all of the modules, I haven't found one where I can have a group work jointly on a document - like a Wiki. Does such functionality exist anywhere in the system?

If not, is there plans to develop one (or should there be)?

mike

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mike Churchward

Re: Is There a Collaborative Document Function?

by Tom Murdock -
Hi Mike,

Sorry I missed responding to your earlier note about Library/Glossary and wiki-bility in Moodle. I think a number of Moodlers are interested in collaborative modules, but the feature probably isn't ranked at the top right now (now, I make this claim right after being very, very wrong last week about the level of excitement over a grading feature that took off like a tornado blush).

In the meanwhile, two options exist right now for you that seem to work quite well.
  1. The first is to install something like phpWiki and to connect to it as a resource. Martin does this in his Developer Documentation Wiki on the front page of this course.
  2. The other way is to install the library add-on. Even with the current library code (which hasn't been updated lately), you can create documents with your students and have everyone edit them in versions. Right now the hyper-linking between Moodle and Library is a bit iffy (needs some changes in the config.php file that I couldn't figure out), but otherwise the add-on works just fine. If you had a need for hypertext links, I would use the glossary module.
I hope this helps.

-Tom
In reply to Tom Murdock

by Mike Churchward -

Thanks Tom.