Structure for courses - can a module belong to more than one course?

Structure for courses - can a module belong to more than one course?

by João Almeida -
Number of replies: 29

Hi,

I am new to Moodle and need help on this. How can a module "belong" to more than one course?

The structure would look like this:

Department -> Course -> Semester -> Grade -> Module or Department -> Course -> Grade -> Semester -> Module

But sometimes a module is common to more than one combination of the above, so the options are:

a) repeat the same module in all combinations;

b) some way to insert a link to a master module so that when the module is chosen a master module is called;

The modules occur in the same time frame or semester, but at different hours of the day and have common exams, altough they may differ in rythm and the proposed works.

I've looked at meta-modules but I'm unsure about their functionality - perhaps there is a simpler way to do this.

Option b) is, in the present case, preferable because the Teacher only has to insert materials and coordinate one module, subject to the condition that he/she can target specific groups, representing classes.

TIA,

Joao

Average of ratings: -
In reply to João Almeida

Re: Structure for courses - can a module belong to more than one course?

by Sue Elvins -

I'm not sure if I'll be of any help to you but this is what I've been doing on mine for right now at least for the 10 weeks that I'm running this class. Each week we have a different subject that we're discussing however it's still got the same activities going on within. For example:

Week 1
Lecture Text
Live Chat
Quiz
Weekly Question
Weekly Assignment