Moodle Philosophy

Moodle Philosophy

by Martin Dougiamas -
Number of replies: 15
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
I've been meaning to write this short document for some time:

http://moodle.org/doc/?frame=philosophy.html

It's a first draft, but what do you think so far?

Does it clarify Moodle's intentions at all or is it confusing? How can it be clearer? Some pictures?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Martin Dougiamas

Re: Moodle Philosophy

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Yes I think it's "soft education mumbo jumbo" but then again I am currently studying for a teaching qualification and much of that brings words like "bollocks" and "unfounded, unscientific, faddish nonsense" to mind smile.  One of my favorite targets of vitriol are the learning styles quiziz offerred from the Honey and Momford Coven......Hmm all the rigor of a Cosmopoloitan "are you good at sex" quiz and nearly as credible as the daily astrological forecast.

I suspect that some of the philosophies of Open Source must be informing your effort somehwere along the lines?. Stuff like Free as in Free speach rather than as in Free Beer (roll on the wads of loot from moodle.com.....).

(For those that have not read Martins philosophy I was just quoting him on the  soft education mumbo.....)

Marcus

by Jerry Jensen -

Martin:

Who is the intended audience for this document?  If it is for potential users of Moodle, you might consider the explaination as is --but putting the technical language at the end of the document.