Where to hook in to the course completion event?

Where to hook in to the course completion event?

by Paul Solecki -
Number of replies: 11

Hi all,

Very new to moodle but I have some things I need to do when a course is completed.

I notice there is a course_completed event on the Wanted list for the Event API but I need it now.

Where is the best point to add in my code?

Many thanks,

Paul.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paul Solecki

Re: Where to hook in to the course completion event?

by Ray Morris -

I'm somewhat new with Moodle myself, but I'd think an event should be raised within:

lib/completion/cron.php  function completion_cron_completions() {

Looks like about 2/3rds of the way into the function it actually marks the completions.  Reading the Events API page, it looks like I should be pretty simple to add. I suppose one could add it, then send the proposed code to the author listed at the top of the module for review.

If you do code it, please post your code here as well and / or email me as I'd be interested in helping / reviewing / using that.  If you try to add it and run into any questions or prpblems I'd be glad to try to help work through any problems. (I have many years of programming expereince, not much Moodle experience.)

In reply to Ray Morris

by Paul Solecki -

Well our project was scrapped a couple of weeks ago. I decided to hook into the scorm player rather than waiting for moodle to mark things as completed.

In /mod/scorm/datamodel.php I used a flag in the

foreach (data_submitted() as $element => $value) {

loop, I then checked whether cmi.core.lesson_status was set to completed to set my flag to true. Once at the end of this, if the completed flag is set to true then I do my bit of processing.

I never actually got to properly test it but I think it should work.

In reply to Paul Solecki

by Ray Morris -