Help - Modifying Quiz Score Results

Help - Modifying Quiz Score Results

by Jose Cernuda -
Number of replies: 10

Is there a way to modify how Moodle grade the quizzes scores? So far I see that the result is calculated "(points obtained / Total Points) * Max Grade"   and that shows the numerical result.  I need to modify this formula to something else, in other words what I want to accomplish is the following:

"[(Points Obtained / Total Points)*4] +1"

for example,

Quiz total points: 10

Quiz Max Grade: 5

if a student scores 6 points then the grade will be (6/10)*5 = 3 this is the normal way.

With the new formula it should be [(6/10)*4]+1 = 3.4 this would be the result that is requested for us to show.

I am a teacher in a small school in Panama, Republic of Panama and that is the grading scale required by the Ministry of Education, Moodle saves me a lot of time of manual grading, but with this change I need to be re-grading the quizzes in the grader and that is really the same thing as marking papers.

Any help would be highly appreciated!

Jose

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jose Cernuda

Re: Help - Modifying Quiz Score Results

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

You can't do this within the quiz.

You can do this sort of thing in the Moodle gradebook, using calculated columns.

In reply to Tim Hunt

by Jose Cernuda -

Thanks Tim... how these calculated columns work? any documentation?

In reply to Jose Cernuda

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hopefully there is documentation, linked to from http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Gradebook.

In reply to Tim Hunt

by Mark Hardwick -

Tim,