Quiz modifications and WebCT import - multiple choice

Quiz modifications and WebCT import - multiple choice

by Przemyslaw Stencel -
Number of replies: 18
I'm one of those guys who are making the move from webct to moodle in September/October, so I'm very much interested in having an import filter for transferring quiz questions.

I'm no good at php, so I'm going to have this done by a programmer. The first step will be to introduce a few changes to question types which already exist in moodle in order to make them more 'compatible' with webct. I hope these modifications will also enhance the potential of moodle quizzes. The second step will be to introduce a brand-new question type ("long answer"), which the staff at my institution use a lot and which does not exist in moodle. Eventually, it should be possible to create a pretty smooth import routine.

I am going to announce changes which I am planning here in this forum for a brainstorming discussion. As I said, I'm not a programmer, so I'd be very grateful for any tips about how to approach these modifications code-wise and database-wise. I will be passing on these comments to the programmer who's going to work on the modifications.

The first thing I'll try are a few modifications of the multiple-choice question type:

1/ Allow for more than 6 choices for each question: a "More Choices" button will be added at the bottom of the page – each time it is pressed, the page will be reloaded and three more options will be added added.

2/ Since it will be possible to have more than 6 choices, grade fractions will need to be assigned to each answer in free-form text field, rather than the drop-down selection list, as it is now.

There are also two modifications which might be useful, but are not so important:

3/ Add a "general Feedback" field for the whole question. This will allow to comment on the question as a whole, rather than on individual options only.