Improving Scales in the Gradebook

Improving Scales in the Gradebook

by Evan Irving-Pease -
Number of replies: 22
As this is my first post to the Moodle forum I thought I’d preface this with a quick hello and a little about me. My name is Evan and I’m a software developer working for the University of London Computer Centre (ULCC). We’re a big Moodle user, hosting over a 100 installs for various universities, colleges, workplace training providers, and the NHS. We also do a lot of work developing custom modules, and host our own Moodle conference “Moodle Wonderland” as well as soon to be hosting “MoodleMoot UK 2010”.

It’s come to my attention recently that the current implementation of scales in Moodle leaves a bit to be desired. Specifically in regard to being able to assign arbitrary numeric values to non-numeric scale items. I’m confident that we are all familiar with grading schemes where letters or words map to numeric values (e.g. D = 50%, C = 60%, B = 70% and A = 80%), however Moodle has somewhat limited support for this.

At present if I were to create a scale of say (D, C, B, A) those scale items would have numeric values somewhat different to what one might intuitively expect.

If I were using the normalized aggregation method the scale would be:
• D = 0/3, C = 1/3, B = 2/3, A = 3/3
However if I were using the sum aggregation method the scale would be:
• D = 1, C = 2, B = 3, A = 4
Alternatively, if I were using LSU scales with the normalized aggregation method the scale would be:
• D = 1/4, C = 2/4, B = 3/4, A = 4/4

Regardless of the aggregation method, the general lack of control over how scale items are converted into numeric scores for the purposes of the Gradebook makes working with scales rather frustrating. Indeed I am hardly the first person to notice this (see forum posts 106031, 120541, and 130707 for various other people's comments).