Hi, and 3 things you wish you had known...

Hi, and 3 things you wish you had known...

by Stuart Lamour -
Number of replies: 26
Picture of Plugin developers
Hi Moodle people!

I'm Stuart and i just started the new year 2010 in my new job at Sussex University working on their moodle install.

I'm spending the first week meeting front end users to get their perspectives, and having a look through the moodle code....

I'd like to do a bit of crowd sourcing and ask everyone here to tell me 3 things they wish someone had told them in their first week using/developing moodle ?

Happy new year everyone smile

Cheers
stuart

Average of ratings: Useful (3)

Re: Hi, and 3 things you wish you had known...

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Ok -well I will give you my three but they are pretty basic and not techie at all - I'm a regular teacher who sort of fell into Moodle admin and training others so mine are:
  1. I wish it were more obvious that to have a space on your front page to give information/add an image (rather than have a long list of courses) you have to go into front page settings and tick add a topic section
  2. I wish I had known earlier on that where possible it's better to add a resource as a webpage than laboriously to upload a word doc - saves time, avoids program compatibilty issues and students prefer the "one click and you're there" aspect as opposed to opening/saving/waiting to load etc
  3. I wish I had started organising my course files in folders from the start rather than just uploading any old resource directly - you end up with a really messy course filea area a few months later
And some things I did know but that I have realised others failed to pick up along the way:
  1. that you don;t have to upload each resource one at a time; you can upload a zipped folder and unzip within Moodle