Findin and deleting Scales!

Findin and deleting Scales!

by Dan Jeffries -
Number of replies: 5
Hi!

I am by no means a database expert (far from it!) but I would like to know if it's possible to detect which scales are being used on which assignments.

Some tutors have imported 'dead' scales from other courses and I cannot seem to find them.

Is this possible?

I have asked this in the Database section but had no response!

Thanks!

Dan
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Dan Jeffries

Re: Findin and deleting Scales!

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers
As far as I am aware, you can add, edit and delete scales using the icons in the Action column. The problem is that once you have used the grade book, the the buttons no longer appear and there is no way to change them. This is actually self protection, when you think about it, from the Teacher's perspective, do it for one, do it for all.

However, there is always hope in Moodle. I am not surprised there was no response in the database forum, I don't think this is actually a database issue. Try this:

Back your course up and DO NOT backup ANY user data. Keep the course files AND the Teacher assignment - but leave EVERYTHING else behind. Restore the course as a new course and check out the grade book. If this works, you can backup your courses keeping the original and complete data or delete them as you need. Try it on your test Moodle first - but it should work.
In reply to Colin Fraser

by Donna Hrynkiw -
If Dan's having the same problems we are, he's not asking from a teacher's point of view, but an administrator's. We're having the same problem.

We'd like to retire (delete from the system) one of the grading scales. However, once a scale is in use in any course we lose the ability to remove it.

If I'm interpreting Dan's request correctly, it's the same request I have -- how do I, as a Moodle administrator, track down which courses are using a given scale?

Donna Hrynkiw