Usability: Tabbed sections

Usability: Tabbed sections

by Tormod Aagaard -
Number of replies: 10

Hi,

I work as a langauge teacher for immigrants, many of them with very little previous computer experience. For us, the length and complexity of the main/middle part in the course really is a problem.

The students have to scroll a lot, and quite a few of them don't even understand that they have to scroll, and so they end up seeing only half the material in the course.

What I suggest, is a possibility to organize the sections as tabs, and in this way keep the course within one screen. If, for example, you chose a "weekly" outline, each week could have its own tab.

I have no programming experience, so I don't know if this is feasible, but I do believe it would make things easier for us.

All the best

Tormod

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tormod Aagaard

Re: Usability: Tabbed sections

by Olli Savolainen -
Thank you for your thoughts. Tabbing is indeed one option, or an accordion control. This has been brought up before, and it is one of the issues that should hopefully be dealt during the Navigation 2.0 project.
In reply to Olli Savolainen

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Make it an accordion control, please, not TABS!

Joseph (who has been waiting for this "accordion" feature in Moodle for quite a few years now.wink)

In reply to Joseph Rézeau

by Mauno Korpelainen -

Both could be nice new features.

It might be rather easy to create for example a new css course format (no tables) with YUI TabView library http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/examples/tabview/frommarkup.html , you should just count the sections twice, first for the tabs ( <ul class="yui-nav"> ) and then for the tabbed content ( <div class="yui-content">  )

... or another example about YUI tabs: http://css-tricks.com/examples/SimpleTabbedBox/