gsoc: what you paint is what you get - discussion

gsoc: what you paint is what you get - discussion

by Martín Langhoff -
Number of replies: 33
Just wanted to mention - there is a bit of discussion on that gsoc project at server-devel

I would have crossposted if this was a mailing list too smile
http://lists.laptop.org/pipermail/server-devel/2009-March/003119.html
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Martín Langhoff

Re: gsoc: what you paint is what you get - discussion

by Mihai Sucan -
Hello!

I am a student interested in helping the Moodle project over the summer. I want to apply to this year's Google Summer of Code.

I have a pretty good experience with developing a paint application. The current demo / proof of concept is available open-source at Google Code:

http://code.google.com/p/paintweb

Since it's just a proof of concept: the entire code needs reorganization, separation into multiple files, proper packaging, perf improvements, additional tools and options, and a new GUI.

> On Thu, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:16 AM, Alex Wulms
> wrote:
>> Regarding the finger painting application: at
>> the moment we don't have much
>> information about what is expected about it.

Finger painting application, not sure what you mean here. It's a matter of the device the user has available. To me, from the technical POV, it's a mouse / a pointing device.

If you are referring to the the OLPC input devices, I'd like further details. I haven't tested any OLPC myself. Do Web applications need any additional technical support for finger touch?

>> Here is the info that we have:
>> --- start of info
>> * Moodle is the Course Management
>> System / Learning Management System.
>> It is the "main face" of the webbased tools
>> that the
>> School Server offers. Most of online
>> (webbased) interaction is via forms -- a
>> text-heavy approach, thus aimed at older kids.
>> * Young children find it easier to paint
>> and draw.
>> * If we can switch the WYSIWYG HTML