Server Checks - Sql 2008

Server Checks - Sql 2008

by seth washeck -
Number of replies: 6

we're installing moodle on a win 2k8 box with iis7 and php through fastcgi and looking at migrating from postgres to mssql.  we want to run sql 08.

there are a few problems - i cannot get freetds to work.  i've scoured the boards and i keep getting an error that states that my php is improperly configured to connect with mssql.  yes, extension=php_mssql.dll is commented out.

because i've had no bad experiences running php and iis through odbc i tried that route and got further but now it's telling me in the "server check" that i dont have the correct version

Name Information Report Status
database mssql docs.gifversion 9.0 is required and you are running Check

i know everyone says to not change any of the install scripts but where is this check performed?  i'd like to alter it so that i can run version 10

Average of ratings: -
In reply to seth washeck

Re: Server Checks - Sql 2008

by Richard Enison -
SW,

You don't need to alter anything to get it to accept version 10. Version 9.0 is required means you need at least 9.0. Any version higher than 9.0 is acceptable. The problem is that Moodle is not recognizing the version of MSSQL that you have as 10. It is not saying, "version 9.0 is required and you are running 10.0." It is saying, "version 9.0 is required and you are running ." It thinks your version number is blank, which is to say 0, which is not higher than 9.0. I don't know offhand why it is not recognizing your MSSQL version, but that is your problem.

RLE
In reply to Richard Enison

by seth washeck -
are there any ideas as to where i should look to make this return a version? data source?
In reply to seth washeck

by Richard Enison -
SW,

Data source? No problem! Here it is:

Moodle gets the version of a MSSQL database, in a method called ServerInfo, in lib/adodb/drivers/adodb-mssql.inc.php. What it does is it executes the following query: